Curriculum   Tracking in the EYFS

The EYFS curriculum is organised into seven important and inter- connected areas of learning and development. We deliver the EYFS curriculum through a carefully planned balance of child and adult directed initiated play opportunities as well as engaging continuous learning provisions both indoors and outdoors. Initially we focus strongly on the three prime areas, which are the basis for successful learning in the other four specific areas. The three prime areas reflect the key skills and capacities all children need to develop and learn effectively, and become ready for school. It is expected that the balance will shift towards a more equal focus on all areas of learning as children grow in confidence and ability. These are the foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.


Prime Areas of Learning


Communication & Language

Listening and attention




Physical Development

Moving and handling

Health and self-care 


Personal, Social &  Emotional Development

Self-confidence and self awareness

Managing feelings and behaviour

Making relationships


 Specific Areas of Learning







Shape, Space & measure



Understanding the world

People & communities

The world


Expressive arts & design

Being imaginative

Exploring & using media and materials


Learning through Play

In Early years we use play as the means to teach and foster development. We provide a wide variety of play experiences and materials through which young children can try new things, experiment, ask questions, talk, read, sing, dance, get messy at times, explore, and listen.