Teaching and Learning in Key Stages 1 and 2

A well-structured programme of transition helps the children transfer smoothly from their reception class in to their new class in Key Stage 1. Here the curriculum will progressively change from the Foundation Stage for Learning to one which follows the National Curriculum for key stages 1 and 2. This change is made with great care and sensitivity towards the individual children’s readiness for this change.

For details of the curriculum, see curriculum mapping links below

Year 1 Curriculum Map

Year 2 Curriculum Map

Year 3 Curriculum Map

Year 4 Curriculum Map

Year 5 Curriculum Map

Year 6 Curriculum Map


We place a high priority on developing the children’s knowledge, skills and understanding in the core subjects of Religious Education, literacy, numeracy, science and ICT.

We follow a structured phonics programme, Read Write Inc. from Foundation stage up to Year 2 and as an intervention programme in Key Stage 2. Our main reading scheme books are Oxford Reading Tree, Project X, Infact and Traditional Tales from Oxford University Press. The Badger series are used as guided reading books in Years 5 & 6.

We also offer the children a broad and balanced curriculum which includes the arts, humanities, personal and social education, cookery, sport and religious education. The learning experiences for the children are organised within our Creative Curriculum under topic headings, a different topic for each of the 6 terms. Topics are cross-curricular in nature and are based on children’s interests and first hand learning.

Back to Home Page
logo logo logo logo logo